Past Chairs

From its first meetings in 1948 until today, the elected leaders of MEC have included Mississippi’s recognized executives in industry, banking and finance, the legal profession, wholesale and retail, insurance, agriculture, and education.

The following have served as chairmen of the Mississippi Economic Council:
( * Deceased)

*1949-50 Edmund Taylor, Greenville
 The Goyer Company

*1950-51 A. F. Chisholm, Laurel
 First National Bank

*1951-52 Frank Everett, Jr., Vicksburg
 Brunini, Everett, Beanland & Wheeless

*1952-53 Otho R. Smith, Meridian
 F. W. Williams State Agency

*1953-54 Harvey Lee Morrison, Okolona
 Attorney at Law

*1954-55 James Hand, Jr., Rolling Fork
 Delta Implement Company

*1955-56 Gerard Brandon, Natchez
 Brandon, Brandon Hornsby & Handy
*1956-57 Fred B. Smith, Ripley
 Attorney at Law

*1957-58 J. D. Wise, Hazlehurst
 Wise Motor Company

*1958-59 Russ M. Johnson, Jackson
 Deposit Guaranty National Bank 

*1959-60 Morris Lewis, Jr., Indianola
 The Lewis Grocer Company

*1960-61 Bruce C. Aultman, Hattiesburg
 Simrall, Aultman & Pope

*1961-62 Charles D. Fair, Louisville
 Attorney at Law

*1962-63 Vaughan Watkins, Jackson
 Watkins Ludlam & Stennis

1963-64 Jack Reed Sr., Tupelo
R. W. Reed Company

*1964-65 Balmer Hill, Jr., Natchez
 Armstrong Rubber Company

1965-66 Tally D. Riddell, Quitman
Riddell and Dabbs

*1966-67 Owen Cooper, Yazoo City
 Mississippi Chemical Corporation

*1967-68 Leslie Darden, New Albany
 Smallwood, Summers, Carter & Trout, P.A.

*1968-69 Leo W. Seal, Jr., Gulfport
 Hancock Bank 

*1969-70 William Henry Harris, West Point
 Daily Times Leader

1970-71 Taylor Webb, Leland
Webb and Webb

1971-72 Joseph Dale, Prentiss
Dale and Clark   

*1972-73 William A. Crabill, Marks
 Self and Company 

*1973-74 J. C. Redd, Jackson
 JCR Enterprises, Inc. 

1974-75 Joe F. Tatum, Hattiesburg
Willmut Gas and Oil Company

*1975-76 Walter L. Ellis, III, Kosciusko
 LuVel Dairy Products, Inc.

1976-77 Dewey H. Lane, M.D., Pascagoula
Surgical Associates, P.A.

*1977-78 Howard Lewis, Greenwood
 Henderson and Baird Hardware Co.

1978-79 G. B. Beard, Jackson
Consulting Engineer

1979-80 Benton E. Cain, Jackson
Cain Lithographers, Inc.

1980-81 Lewis F. Mallory, Jr., Starkville
National Bank of Commerce of Mississippi

1981-82 W. W. Gresham, Jr., Indianola
Gresham Petroleum Company

1982-83 Aubrey K. Lucas, Hattiesburg
University of Southern Mississippi  

*1983-84 Charles Sewell, Jackson
 Deposit Guaranty Mortgage Company

1984-85 Lewis Whitfield, Tupelo
Deposit Guaranty National Bank 

1985-86 J. Marlin Ivey, Kosciusko
Ivey’s, Inc.

*1986-87 Alan Barton, Gulfport
 Mississippi Power Company

1987-88 Kenneth E. Milam, Jackson
Watkins & Eager

*1988-89 William E. McClure, Columbus
 McClure Furniture Company 

1989-90 Gene A. Triggs, Yazoo City
Mississippi Chemical Corporation

1990-91 Alvis Hunt, Jackson
Trustmark National Bank

1991-92 Kenneth Williams, Corinth
Coca-Cola/Refreshments, Inc.

1992-93 J. Kelley Williams, Jackson
First Mississippi Corporation

1993-94 Williams D. Sones, Brookhaven
State Bank & Trust Company

1994-95 Aubrey B. Patterson, Tupelo
Bank of Mississippi

1995-96 Stephen T. McMahon, Jackson
Time Warner Cable

1996-97 W. C. Shoemaker, Kosciusko
W. C. Shoemaker, Inc.

1997-98 John R. McCarty, Jackson
McCarty Enterprises, LLC

1998-99 Dexter Barr, Jackson
Trustmark National Bank

1999-00 Don Kilgore, Philadelphia
Alford, Thomas & Kilgore

2000-01 Dwight Evans, Gulfport
Mississippi Power Company

2001-02 Reuben V. Anderson, Jackson
Phelps Dunbar LLP

2002-03 William G. Yates, Jr., Philadelphia
W. G. Yates & Sons Construction Company, Inc.

2003-04 Richard Hickson, Jackson
Trustmark Corporation

2004-05 John M. McCullouch, Jackson
BellSouth, Mississippi Operations

2005-06 James Threadgill, Tupelo

2006-07 Thomas Gresham, Indianola
Double Quick, Inc.

2007-08 Carolyn Shanks, Jackson
Entergy Mississippi, Inc.

2008-09 Anthony Topazi, Gulfport
Mississippi Power Company

2009-10 Mayo Flynt, Jackson
AT&T Mississippi

2010-11 Jack Reed Jr.,Tupelo
Mayor, City of Tupelo

2011-12 Tommy Dulaney, Meridian
Structural Steel

2012-13 Jerry Host, Jackson
Trustmark Corporation

2013-14 Haley Fisackerly, Jackson
Entergy Mississippi, Inc.

2014-2015 Alveno Castilla, Madison
Butler Snow LLP

2015-2016 David Gates, Flowood
Atmos Energy

2016-2017 Robin Robinson, Laurel
Sanderson Farms, Inc.

2017-2018 William Yates III, Biloxi
Yates Construction

Share This Page
Scroll to Top